Action Summary Minutes San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ADVISORY GROUP (EJAG)

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno, CA

Thursday, October 27, 2022

Given the international COVID-19 pandemic, and consistent with public health recommendations and Assembly Bill 361, this meeting was held via Zoom Webinar and video teleconferencing with the Central Region Office (Fresno). This meeting was also webcast. No physical location was provided for public attendance.

- 1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u> The Chair, Nayamin Martinez, called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m.
- 2. <u>ROLL CALL</u> Roll was taken and a quorum was confirmed.

Present:

Nayamin Martinez, Chair Thomas Helme, Vice Chair Esperanza Vielma Derek Williams Richard O'Brien Ned Leiba* Kacey Auston-Tibbetts** Manuel Cunha	Fresno County At Large Representative Stanislaus County At Large Representative San Joaquin County At Large Representative Tulare County At Large Representative CAC City Interest Group (Primary) CAC Environmental Group (Primary) CAC Environmental Group (Alternate) CAC Industry / Agricultural Interest Group (Primary)
Absent: Rechima Dean Keith Freitas Jasmeet Bains, M.D. Laura Gutile	Ethnic Small Business Owner Kings County At Large Representative Kern County At Large Representative Madera County At Large Representative

Merced County At-large Representative

*Ned Leiba left at 6:45 p.m.

Dennis Brazil

**Kacey Auston-Tibbetts substituted for Mr. Leiba after he left the meeting at 6:45 p.m.

3. <u>APPROVE MINUTES FOR AUGUST 25, 2022</u> – Ms. Martinez asked if there were any comments regarding the minutes for August 25, 2022. Mr. Leiba stated that he was present at August meeting, which was not reflected in the minutes, and also noted that Goal and Objective 11 should be corrected to Goal and Objective number one.

Moved: Mr. Cunha Seconded: Mr. Helme Ayes: Cunha, Helme, Leiba, O'Brien, Vielma, Williams, Martinez Nays: None

Motion unanimously carried to approve August 25, 2022, minutes with the changes identified by Mr. Leiba reflected.

Public Comment: None

- 4. <u>PUBLIC COMMENTS</u> None
- 5. <u>CHAIR COMMENTS</u> Ms. Martinez welcomed everyone.
- 6. <u>APCO/DEPUTY APCO COMMENTS</u> Morgan Lambert, Deputy APCO, announced that the District is accepting applications for the Ethnic, Small Business Owner seat in the Environmental Justice Advisory Group and deadline has been extended to November 29, 2022.

It was also announced that District public meetings will be going back to in-person meetings starting in January 2023.

7. <u>UPDATE ON ATTAINMENT PLANS AND RULES</u> – Jessi Fierro, Director of Air Quality Planning, provided an update on the District's attainment plan and rule making efforts.

Mr. Leiba asked that health impacts and a cost-benefit analysis be included in future District presentations.

Public Comment: Mr. Orchel Krier – City of Taft Mayor Pro Tem & CAC City Interest Group Alternate EJAG member

8. <u>OVERVIEW OF MEETING RULES OF ORDER</u> – The District's Legal Counsel, Annette Ballatore presented an overview of the of Robert's Rules Order, which the EJAG bylaws require meetings to be conducted in accordance with to ensure business is performed in an orderly and productive fashion while promoting a deliberative process of full and free discussion.

Public Comment: None

9. <u>REVIEW OF ENVIRONMENTAL ADVISORY GROUP BYLAWS</u> – Morgan Lambert presented an overview of EJAG Bylaws.

Mr. Williams asked for clarification about the EJAG's responsibility to maintain awareness of new District rules and policies. Morgan Lambert clarified that although this is important, it is not an explicit charge of EJAG under the District's Environmental Justice Strategy or the EJAG by-laws.

Public Comment - None

10. <u>AB 617 UPDATE</u> – Jessica Olsen, Director of Community Strategies & Resources, provided an update on recent activities in the District's AB 617 communities.

Public Comment – None

11. <u>APPOINT AD HOC EJAG GRANTS COMMITTEE</u> – Morgan Lambert said that the EJAG Grants Committee is scheduled to meet in January 2023 to develop recommended incentive spending plan priorities for EJAG to considered approving and forwarding to the District Governing Board as the 2023-24 Budget is developed.

Chair Martinez appointed the following members to the committee: Esperanza Vielma, Thomas Helme, Derek Williams, Manuel Cunha, and Nayamin Martinez.

Public Comment - None

12. POTENTIAL FUTURE EJAG MEETING AGENDA ITEMS

Mr. Williams suggested a refresher on the Brown Act & Ethics Training

- 13. <u>PUBLIC COMMENTS (2ND Opportunity)</u> None
- 14. <u>EJAG MEMBER COMMENTS</u> None

Meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.