## **Action Summary Minutes**

### SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

# Thursday, April 6, 2017 6:00 p.m.

Meeting held via video teleconferencing at the offices of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District: Central Region Office (Fresno), Northern Region Office (Modesto), and Southern Region Office (Bakersfield)

#### 1. <u>CALL MEETING TO ORDER:</u>

The Chairman of the Special City Selection Committee, Mayor Chris Vierra, called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.

#### 2. ROLL CALL:

#### Present:

Councilmember	Paul	Akinjo	City of Lathrop
Mayor Pro Tem	Jim	Avalos	City of Selma
Mayor	David	Ayers	City of Hanford
Councilmember	Darlene	Barber-Martinez	City of Riverbank
Mayor	Virgil	Bell	City of Maricopa
Councilmember	Leonel	Benavides	City of Farmersville
Councilmember	Anita	Betancourt	City of Reedley
Councilmember	Michael	Belluomini	City of Merced
Councilmember	Jeff	Chedester	City of Lemoore
Councilmember	Russell	Coker	City of McFarland
Councilmember	Juana	Dement	City of Tracy
Mayor Pro Tem	Tom	Dunlop	City of Oakdale
Councilmember	Eli	Espericueta	City of Shafter
Councilmember	Dominic	Farinha	City of Patterson
Councilmember	Mark	Fontana	City of Hughson
Councilmember	Casey	Graham	City of Newman
Councilmember	Mani	Grewal	City of Modesto
Councilmember	Mathew	Jacob	City of Turlock
Councilmember	Karnig	Kazarian	City of Fowler
Councilmember	Doug	Kuehne	City of Lodi
Councilmember	Susan	Lenz	City of Stockton

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES April 6, 2017

.

3. <u>APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF MARCH 29, 2016 AND NOVEMBER 29, 2016</u> – The Chair asked for member comments or suggested revisions to the Minutes for the meetings held on March 29, 2016 and November 29, 2016.

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment: None

Hearing no comments, Chairman Vierra deemed the Minutes approved for the meetings held on March 29, 2016 and November 29, 2016.

4. <u>APPOINT CITY REPRESENTATIVE TO THE GOVERNING BOARD</u> – Seyed Sadredin, Permanent Secretary and Executive Director/APCO, thanked members for their attendance at the meeting. He said the item before them was to appoint three new city representatives to the District's Governing Board. He said these appointments require a majority vote from San Joaquin Valley City

Selection Committee members and named the members up for appointment at the meeting tonight:

- Councilmember Christina Fugazi, City of Stockton, as the Large City Representative from San Joaquin County
- 2. Mayor Chris Vierra, City of Ceres, as the Small City Representative from Stanislaus County
- 3. Councilmember Monte Reyes, City of Porterville, as the Small City Representative from Tulare County

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment - None

Motion: Thusu Seconded: Avalos

Ayes: Whalen, Thusu, Petty, Benavides, Jenkins, Kazarian, Ayers,

Roman, Chedester, Belluomimi, Reyes, Betancourt, Avalos, Link, Martinez, Silviera, Preciado, Vierra, Laugero, Oliveira, Fontana, Akinjo, Sicairos, Kuehne, Grewal, Graham, Dunlop, Barber-Martinez, Dement, Jacob, Madrigal, Sullivan, Vallejo,

Bell, Coker, Espericueta, Reyna

Nays: None Abstain: Farinha

Motion carried 37-0 with 1 abstention to appoint Councilmember Christina Fugazi, City of Stockton, Councilmember Chris Vierra, City of Ceres, and Councilmember Monte Reyes, City of Porterville, to the District's Governing Board

5. <u>APPOINT COMMITTEE VICE CHAIR</u> – Mr. Sadredin congratulated the newly appointed Board members and said staff would be contacting them with information before the next Board meeting on April 20, 2017. He said the purpose of this item was to appoint a Vice Chair for this Committee and invited members to volunteer to serve in this position. Mayor David Ayers, City of Hanford, volunteered to serve as Committee Vice Chair

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES April 6, 2017

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment - None

Motion: Ayers Seconded: Avalos

Ayes: Whalen, Thusu, Petty, Benavides, Jenkins, Kazarian, Ayers,

Roman, Chedester, Belluomimi, Reyes, Betancourt, Avalos, Link, Martinez, Silviera, Preciado, Vierra, Laugero, Oliveira, Fontana, Akinjo, Sicairos, Kuehne, Grewal, Graham, Dunlop, Farinha, Barber-Martinez, Lenz, Dement, Jacob, Madrigal,

Sullivan, Vallejo, Bell, Coker, Espericueta, Reyna

Nays: None

Motion unanimously carried to appoint Mayor David Ayers, City Hanford, as Vice Chair of the Committee

- 6. PUBLIC COMMENT None
- 7. <u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS</u> Councilmember Monte Reyes, City of Porterville, expressed his gratitude to the Committee for allowing him this opportunity and his delight at the opportunity to serve on the District's Governing Board.
- 8. <u>ADJOURN</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m.