Action Summary Minutes

SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 6:00 p.m.

Meeting held via video teleconferencing at the offices of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District: Central Region Office (Fresno), Northern Region Office (Modesto), and Southern Region Office (Bakersfield)

1. <u>CALL MEETING TO ORDER:</u>

The Chairman of the Special City Selection Committee, Mayor Chris Vierra, called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL:

Present:

CouncilmemberFrankGonzalezCity of SangerCouncilmemberCaseyGrahamCity of NewmanCouncilmemberLeonardHammerCity of Fowler	Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember
Mayor Pro TemTomDunlopCity of OakdaleCouncilmemberJoseEscotoCity of ParlierCouncilmemberGilEsquerCity of TurlockCouncilmemberDominicFarinhaCity of PattersonCouncilmemberBruceFreemanCity of BakersfieldCouncilmemberChristinaFugaziCity of StocktonCouncilmemberGregGomezCity of FarmersvilCouncilmemberFrankGonzalezCity of SangerCouncilmemberCaseyGrahamCity of NewmanCouncilmemberLeonardHammerCity of Fowler	
Councilmember Gil Esquer City of Parlier Councilmember Dominic Farinha City of Patterson Councilmember Bruce Freeman City of Bakersfield Councilmember Christina Fugazi City of Stockton Councilmember Greg Gomez City of Farmersvil Councilmember Frank Gonzalez City of Sanger Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	
Councilmember Gil Esquer City of Turlock Councilmember Dominic Farinha City of Patterson Councilmember Bruce Freeman City of Bakersfield Councilmember Christina Fugazi City of Stockton Councilmember Greg Gomez City of Farmersvil Councilmember Frank Gonzalez City of Sanger Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	-
Councilmember Dominic Farinha City of Patterson Councilmember Bruce Freeman City of Bakersfield Councilmember Christina Fugazi City of Stockton Councilmember Greg Gomez City of Farmersvil Councilmember Frank Gonzalez City of Sanger Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	
Councilmember Bruce Freeman City of Bakersfield Councilmember Christina Fugazi City of Stockton Councilmember Greg Gomez City of Farmersvil Councilmember Frank Gonzalez City of Sanger Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	Councilmember
Councilmember Christina Fugazi City of Stockton Councilmember Greg Gomez City of Farmersvil Councilmember Frank Gonzalez City of Sanger Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	Councilmember
CouncilmemberGregGomezCity of FarmersvilCouncilmemberFrankGonzalezCity of SangerCouncilmemberCaseyGrahamCity of NewmanCouncilmemberLeonardHammerCity of Fowler	Councilmember
CouncilmemberFrankGonzalezCity of SangerCouncilmemberCaseyGrahamCity of NewmanCouncilmemberLeonardHammerCity of Fowler	Councilmember
Councilmember Casey Graham City of Newman Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	Councilmember
Councilmember Leonard Hammer City of Fowler	Councilmember
,	Councilmember
Councilmember Dennis Haworth City of Chowchilla	Councilmember
Transfer and the state of the s	Councilmember
Councilmember Bob Link City of Visalia	Councilmember
Councilmember Jose Martinez City of Woodlake	Councilmember

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES January 31, 2018

Councilmember	Michael	McGlynn	City of Dos Palos
Councilmember	Yvette	Montijo	City of Selma
Councilmember	Melvin	Oliveira	City of Gustine
Councilmember	Clint	Olivier	City of Fresno
Councilmember	Felipe	Perez	City of Firebaugh
Councilmember	Alvaro	Preciado	City of Avenal
Councilmember	Monte	Reyes	City of Porterville
Councilmember	Arturo	Sicairos	City of Livingston
Councilmember	Robert	Swift	City of Escalon
Councilmember	Kuldip	Thusu	City of Dinuba
Mayor	Chris	Vierra	City of Ceres
Councilmember	Cindy	Vierra	City of Atwater
Councilmember	Cherylee	Wegman	City of Wasco
Mayor	Bob	Whalen	City of Clovis
	•	•	•

 APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF APRIL 6, 2017 – The Chair asked for member comments or suggested revisions to the Minutes for the meeting held on April 6, 2017.

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment: None

Hearing no comments, Chairman Vierra deemed the Minutes approved for the meeting held on April 6, 2017.

4. APPOINT LARGE CITY REPRESENTATIVE TO THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD — Seyed Sadredin, Permanent Secretary and Executive Director/APCO, thanked members for taking time out of their busy schedules to attend this important meeting. He said the item before them was to appoint one new large city representative to the District's Governing Board as defined by state law. According to the rotation schedule developed by the Committee, the City of Clovis was next in line to have a representative appointed to the District's Governing Board. He said Clovis Mayor Pro Tem, Drew Bessinger applied for this position and District staff sent ballots to all cities in Fresno County and asked them to return their results by the deadline. He reported that 8 cities in Fresno County, which represents a majority of the total of 15 cities in the county, voted

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES January 31, 2018

affirmatively to nominate Mayor Pro Tem Bessinger to be appointed to the District's Governing Board. He added 3 additional cities in Fresno County took action after the deadline, and also voted affirmatively to nominate Mayor Pro Tem Bessinger to the District's Governing Board.

Mayor Pro Tem Bessinger addressed Committee members and said he has been a public servant for five decades, as a law enforcement officer with military, federal, state and municipal agencies. He said it was an honor to be nominated for this position on the District's Governing Board because the work done by the District is vitally important to Valley. He said air pollution does not respect boundaries nor city limits and it adversely affects all of us regardless of income, where we live, or our station in life. It is especially harmful to children, the elderly, and those with chronic illnesses. He added, although some of the sources of pollution that we deal with are unfortunately out of our control and caused by topography, environmental issues such as forest fires and sources outside of our area, there are things that we can do to make our area safer for our citizens. He acknowledged the extensive work by the District's Governing Board and staff, their public partners in agriculture, industry, and environmental groups, and said he looked forward to working alongside them, if appointed at this meeting.

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment - None

Motion: Whalen Seconded: DeBrum

Ayes: Vierra, Vierra, Haworth, Swift, Oliviera, Sicairos, DeBrum,

Graham, Dunlop, Farinha, Barber-Martinez, Fugazi, Dement, Esquer, Aldaco, Freeman, Wegman, Preciado, Whalen, Thusu, Gomez, Perez, Hammer, Olivier, McGlynn, Ayers,

Chedester, Bulluomini, Escoto, Reyes, Betancourt,

Gonzalez, Montijo, Link, Martinez

Nays: None

Motion carried 35-0 to appoint City of Clovis Mayor Pro Tem Drew Bessinger to the District Governing Board

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES January 31, 2018

- 5. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u> None
- 6. <u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS</u> None
- 7. <u>ADJOURN</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:24 p.m.