# **Action Summary Minutes**

## SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

Thursday, May 29, 2019 6:00 p.m.

Meeting held via video teleconferencing at the offices of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District: Central Region Office (Fresno), Northern Region Office (Modesto), and Southern Region Office (Bakersfield)

## 1. <u>CALL MEETING TO ORDER:</u>

The Chairman of the Special City Selection Committee, Chris Vierra, called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

## 2. ROLL CALL:

#### Present:

Councilmember	Paul	Akinjo	City of Lathrop
Mayor Pro Tem	Jim	Avalos	City of Selma
Councilmember	Darlene	Barber-Martinez	City of Riverbank
Mayor	Drew	Bessinger	City of Clovis
Councilmember	Anita	Betancourt	City of Reedley
Councilmember	Anthony	Martinez	City of Merced
Councilmember	Dave	Brown	City of Lemoore
Councilmember	Cathy	Prout	City of Shafter
Councilmember	Mark	Fontana	City of Hughson
Councilmember	Jenny	Kenoyer	City of Modesto
Councilmember	Nicole	Larson	City of Turlock
Councilmember	Leonard	Hammer	City of Fowler
Councilmember	Orchel	Krier	City of Taft
Councilmember	Peter	Krumeich	City of Escalon
Councilmember	Raymond	Lerma	City of Corcoran
Councilmember	Deborah	Lewis	City of Los Banos
Councilmember	Bob	Link	City of Visalia
Councilmember	Jose	Gurrola	City of Arvin
Councilmember	Jose	Martinez	City of Woodlake
Councilmember	Michael	McGlynn	City of Dos Palos
Councilmember	Emilio	Morales	City of Dinuba

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES May 29, 2019

Councilmember	Pat	Nagy	City of Gustine
Councilmember	Jose	Nuno	City of Manteca
Councilmember	Vince	Palomar	City of Kingsburg
Councilmember	Jeremy	Petty	City of Exeter
Councilmember	Tom	Powell	City of Waterford
Councilmember	Alvaro	Preciado	City of Avenal
Councilmember	Jorge	Solorio	City of Huron
Councilmember	Marcia	Sablan	City of Firebaugh
Councilmember	Grace	Vallejo	City of Delano
Mayor	Chris	Vierra	City of Ceres

.

 APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF JANUARY 31, 2018 – The Chair asked for member comments or suggested revisions to the Minutes for the meeting held on January 31, 2018

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): Councilmember Jose Nuno, City of Manteca requested a correction for Mayor Steve DeBrum's title.

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

**Public Comment: None** 

Hearing no comments, Chairman Vierra deemed the Minutes approved for the meeting held on January 31, 2018, with the suggested correction.

APPOINT SMALL CITY REPRESENTATIVE TO THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY 4. AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD - Samir Sheikh, Permanent Secretary and Executive Director/APCO, thanked members for their attendance at the meeting. He said there was currently a vacancy for a Small City Representative from the Central Region of the District. Given the current makeup of the District Governing Board, and statutory requirements, eligible councilmembers must be from either Kings or Madera Counties. Kings and Madera Counties are both part of the South San Joaquin Chapter of the League of California Cities. According to the nomination procedure adopted by the Special City Selection Committee, District staff contacted the South San Joaquin Chapter of the league of California Cities to determine how a nominee would be selected. The South San Joaquin Valley Chapter of the League of California cities indicated that they would like to nominate a councilmember to fill the vacant seat. The South San Joaquin Valley Chapter undertook a process and nominated Avenal City Council Member Alvaro Preciado to fill the vacant seat.

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES May 29, 2019

Council Member Preciado introduced himself and thanked members for their attendance at the meeting.

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment – The following persons commented on this item:

• Manuel Cunha, Nisei Farmers League

Motion: Gurrola Seconded: Vallejo

Ayes: Gurrola, Vallejo, Prout, Krier, Vierra, Krumeich, Nagy,

Fontana, Akinjo, Lewis, Nuno, Kenoyer, Barber-Martinez, Larson, Powell, Martinez, Preciado, Bessinger, Lerma, Morales, McGlynn, Petty, Sablan, Hammer, Solorio, Palomar, Brown, Bettancourt, Avalos, Link, Martinez

Nays: None Abstain: None

Motion carried 31-0 to appoint Council Member Alvaro Preciado as the small city representative on the District's Governing Board

- 5. PUBLIC COMMENT None
- 6. <u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS</u> –
- 7. <u>ADJOURN</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:23 p.m.