## **Action Summary Minutes**

### SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

# Thursday, April 29, 2020 6:00 p.m.

Meeting held via video teleconferencing at the offices of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District: Central Region Office (Fresno), Northern Region Office (Modesto), and Southern Region Office (Bakersfield)

#### 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER:

The Chairman of the Special City Selection Committee, Chris Vierra, called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m. He announced the Committee was meeting via Zoom audio and video teleconference due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

#### 2. ROLL CALL:

#### Present:

Councilmember Mayor Vice Mayor Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Mayor Mayor Mayor Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor Councilmember Mayor	Alvaro Dennis Drew Jose Kuldip Michael Elsa Miguel John Rhonda Jewel John Cece Anita Frank Deborah Scott Jose John Chris	Preciado Haworth Bessinger Nuno Thusu McGlynn Lopez Arias Draxler Armstrong Hurtado Plourde Gallegos Bettencourt Gonzalez Lewis Robertson Sigala Cale Vierra Nagy	City of Avenal City of Madera City of Clovis City of Dinuba City of Dos Palos City of Firebaugh City of Fresno City of Hanford City of Kerman City of Kerman City of Kerman City of Lemoore City of Madera City of Reedley City of Sanger City of Los Banos City of Tulare City of Atwater City of Ceres City of Gustine
--	--	---	--

Councilmember	Maria	Baptista-Soto	City of Livingston
Councilmember	Jose	Nuno	City of Manteca
Mayor	Doug	Kuehne	City of Lodi
Councilmember	Casey	Graham	City of Newman
Councilmember	Daniel	De Graaf	City of Ripon
Councilmember	Darlene	Barber-Martinez	City of Riverbank
Councilmember	Susan	Lenz	City of Stockton
Councilmember	Nicole	Larson	City of Turlock
Councilmember	Jose	Aldaco	City of Waterford
Mayor Pro Tem	Virgil	Bell	City of Maricopa
Mayor Pro Tem	Orchel	Krier	City of Taft
Councilmember	Gilberto	Reyna	City of Wasco
Councilmember	Paul	Akinjo	City of Lathrop
Councilmember	Peter	Krumeich	City of Escalon

 APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF MAY 29, 2019 – The Chair asked for member comments or suggested revisions to the Minutes for the meeting held on May 29, 2019.

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto): None

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment: None

Hearing no comments, Chairman Vierra deemed the Minutes approved for the meeting held on May 29, 2019.

- 4. REAPPOINT CITY REPRESENTATIVES TO THE GOVERNING BOARD Samir Sheikh, Executive Director/APCO, and Permanent Secretary for the Special City Selection Committee, welcomed members to the meeting and thanked them for attending. He said in 2014, the Special City Selection Committee adopted procedures allowing for the reappointment of city members to maintain institutional knowledge and provide more effective participation of city members on the District's Governing Board. He said there are current three city representatives who have completed their first term on the Governing Board:
  - Councilmember Christina Fugazi, City of Stockton
  - Mayor Chris Vierra, City of Ceres
  - Councilmember Monte Reves, City of Porterville

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES April 29, 2020

Northern Region Office (Modesto):

Vice Mayor Jose Nuno, City of Manteca

Central Region Office (Fresno): None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield): None

Public Comment - None

Motion: Sigala Seconded: Arias

Ayes: Preciado, Haworth, Bessinger, Thusu, McGlynn, Lopez,

Arias, Draxler, Armstrong, Hurtado, Plourde, Gallegos, Bettencourt, Gonzalez, Robertson, Sigala, Cale, Vierra, Nagy, Baptista-Soto, Kuehne, Nuno, Graham, De Graaf, Barber-Martinez, Lenz, Larson, Aldaco, Bell, Krier, Reyna

Akinjo, Lewis

Nays: None Abstain: Krumeich

Motion carried 33-0 with 1 abstention to reappoint City Representatives to the Governing Board

- 5. PUBLIC COMMENT None
- 6. <u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS</u> None
- 7. ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 6:27 p.m.