Action Summary Minutes

SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

Thursday, February 11, 2021 5:00 p.m.

Given the international COVID-19 pandemic, and consistent with the California Department of Public Health's recommendations and Governor Newsom's Executive Orders N-25-20 and N-29-20, the meeting was held via video teleconference with no physical location for public attendance.

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER:

The Secretary of the Special City Selection Committee, Samir Sheikh, called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m. He announced the Committee was meeting via Zoom audio and video teleconference due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

2. ROLL CALL:

Present:

Member Name	Location
Casey Graham	VTC
Monte Reyes	VTC
Diana Palmer	VTC
Patricia Matthews	VTC
Peter Krumeich	VTC
Cece Gallegos	VTC
Rosa Escorial-Braaton	VTC
Jose Martinez	VTC
Phil Cox	VTC
Pam Franco	VTC
Christina Fugazi	VTC
Drew Bessinger	VTC
Ismael Herrera	VTC
Virgil Bell	VTC
Freddy Valdez	VTC
Debbie Orlando	VTC
Alvaro Preciado	VTC
Ruben Macareno	VTC
	Casey Graham Monte Reyes Diana Palmer Patricia Matthews Peter Krumeich Cece Gallegos Rosa Escorial-Braaton Jose Martinez Phil Cox Pam Franco Christina Fugazi Drew Bessinger Ismael Herrera Virgil Bell Freddy Valdez Debbie Orlando Alvaro Preciado

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES February 11, 2021

Lodi	Alan Nakanishi	VTC
Dinuba	Kuldip Thusu	VTC
Shafter	Cathy Prout	VTC
Coalinga	Ronald Ramsey	VTC
Riverbank	Luis Uribe	VTC
Hughson	Michael Buck	VTC
Reedley	Anita Betancourt	VTC
Manteca	Charles Halford	VTC
Taft	Orchel Krier	VTC
Tulare	Jose Sigala	VTC
Ceres	Bret Silveira	VTC
Selma	Beverly Cho	VTC
Ripon	Leo Zuber	VTC
Los Banos	Deborah Lewis	VTC
Patterson	Cynthia Homen	VTC
Atwater	John Cale	VTC
Bakersfield	Eric Arias	VTC
Lathrop	Paul Akinjo	VTC
Tracy	Mateo Bedolla	VTC

This item was taken out of order.

4. <u>APPOINT COMMITTEE CHAIR</u> – Mr. Sheikh announced the previous Chair, Chris Vierra from the City of Ceres, was no longer in office and Committee members would need to appoint a new Chair.

Councilmember Monte Reyes, City of Porterville, nominated Councilmember Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis, to serve as the Chair of the San Joaquin Valleywide Special City Selection Committee.

Public Comment - None

Moved: Reyes Seconded: Thusu

Ayes: Preciado, Palmer, Ramsey, Thusu, Orlando, Valdez

Herrera, Matthews, Gallegos, Reyes, Bettencort, Cho, Sigala, Cox, Martinez, Cale, Silvera, Buck, Akinjo, Nakanishi, Lewis, Halford, Escutia-Braaton, Graham, Homen, Zuber, Uribe, Fugazi, Bedolla, Franco, Arias,

Bell, Prout, Krier

Nays: None

Abstain: Bessinger, Krumeich

Motion carried 34-0-2 to appoint Councilmember Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis, as Chair of the Special City Selection Committee

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES February 11, 2021

 APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF APRIL 29, 2020 – The Chair asked for member comments or suggested revisions to the Minutes for the meeting held on April 29, 2020.

Member Comments: None

Public Comment: None

Hearing no comments, Chairman Bessinger deemed the minutes approved.

Mr. Macareno arrived at 5:32 p.m.

- 5. REAPPOINT CITY REPRESENTATIVE TO THE GOVERNING BOARD Samir Sheikh, Executive Director/APCO of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District, welcomed members to the meeting and thanked them for attending. He said the Special City Selection Committee has adopted procedures allowing for the reappointment of city members for additional terms to maintain institutional knowledge and provide more effective participation of city members on the District's Governing Board. He said there is currently one member who has completed his first term on the Governing Board and is interested in serving a second term.
 - Mayor Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis

Member Comments - Paul Akinjo, City of Lathrop

Public Comment - None

Moved: Fugazi Seconded: Bell

Ayes: Preciado, Palmer, Ramsey, Thusu, Orlando, Valdez,

Herrera, Matthews, Gallegos, Reyes, Bettencourt, Cho,

Sigala, Cox, Martinez, Cale, Silvera, Buck, Akinjo, Nakanishi, Lewis, Halford, Escutia-Braaton, Graham, Homen, Zuber, Uribe, Fugazi, Bedolla, Franco, Arias,

Bell, Prout, Krier

Nays: None

Abstain: Bessinger, Krumeich, Macareno

Motion carried 34-0-3 to reappoint Mayor Drew Bessinger to the District's Governing Board

6. <u>APPOINT SMALL CITY REPRESENTATIVE FROM MERCED COUNTY TO</u>
<u>THE GOVERNING BOARD</u> – Mr. Sheikh explained there is a current vacancy on the District's Governing Board from a small city. Based upon the current membership of the District Governing Board, in accordance with state law, the

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES February 11, 2021

small city appointment must be from the area served by the North Valley Chapter of the League of California Cities. He said the North Valley Chapter requested that the District seek nominees to fill the vacant city seat. Based upon the procedures and rotation schedule adopted by the Special City Selection Committee the next small city in rotation is from Merced County.

On December 7, 2020, the District mailed applications to city council members for cities in Merced County. Three applications were received and ballots were mailed to all cities in Merced County to select their preferred candidate. The cities selected Councilmember Deborah Lewis, City of Los Banos, as their preferred candidate for the District's Governing Board.

Councilmember Lewis thanked the cities in Merced County for their support and confidence in her to represent their county on the District's Governing Board.

Member Comments - None

Public Comments - None

Moved: Cox Seconded: Zuber

Ayes: Preciado, Palmer, Bessinger, Ramsey, Thusu, Orlando,

Macareno, Valdez, Herrera, Matthews, Gallegos, Reyes, Bettencourt, Cho, Sigala, Cox, Martinez, Cale, Silvera, Buck, Akinjo, Nakanishi, Lewis, Halford, Escutia-Braaton, Graham, Homen, Zuber, Uribe, Fugazi, Bedolla, Franco,

Arias, Bell, Prout, Krier

Nays: None Abstain: Krumeich

Motion carried 36-0-1 to appoint Councilmember Deborah Lewis to the District's Governing Board

- 7. PUBLIC COMMENT None
- 8. <u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS</u> Councilmember Bell thanked the District for addressing a dust control issue in the City of Maricopa.
- 9. ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 5:44 p.m.