Action Summary Minutes

SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY SPECIAL CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Central Region Office, Governing Board Room 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno CA

Monday, August 31, 2009 6:00 p.m.

Meeting held via video teleconferencing at the offices of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District: Central Region Office (Fresno), Northern Region Office (Modesto), and Southern Region Office (Bakersfield).

7. COMMITTEE MEMBERS COMMENTS – This item was taken out of order. Seyed Sadredin, APCO/Secretary to the San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee gave a presentation on the District's new Rule 9410 (Employer-Based Trip Reduction). He noted the purpose of the Rule is to reduce mobile source emissions, which are the biggest contributor to the Valley's air quality problem. This Rule would encourage employers to promote and facilitate alternative transportation by employees through education and direct measures. It would apply to employers with 100 or more eligible employees at a single worksite and apply only to employees reporting to work from 6:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. Mr. Sadredin introduced Jaime Holt, the District's Chief Communications Officer who gave a brief presentation on the District's Healthy Air Living Campaign.

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER:

The Chairman of the Special City Selection Committee, Chris Vierra, called the meeting to order at 6:32 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL:

Present:

Ed Alves City of Escalon David G. Ayers City of Hanford Leonel Benavides City of Farmersville City of Reedley Anita Betancourt City of Kingsburg Bruce Blayney City of Exeter Teresa Boyce John Carlisle City of Merced City of Visalia Jesus Gamboa Nelson Crabbe City of Atwater City of Fowler Rick Darling

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES August 31, 2009

Jose Flores City of Clovis

Julia Hernandez City of San Joaquin
Esther Gonzalez City of Orange Cove

Pamela Kimball City of Lindsay City of Lathrop Christopher Mateo Debby Moorhead City of Manteca **Emilio Morales** City of Dinuba Garry Nelson City of Shafter Dagoberto Ovalle City of Avenal Hilda Plasencia City of Huron John Plourde City of Lemoore Victor Ruiz City of Sanger Zack Scrivner City of Bakersfield Richard Stockwell City of Kerman Grace Vallejo City of Delano Mike VanWinkle City of Waterford Craig Vejvoda City of Tulare Chris Vierra City of Ceres Jim Wadsworth City of Corcoran Larry Westerlund City of Fresno

The Chair, Chris Vierra thanked everyone for attending this meeting. He stated he is looking forward to additional City representation on the Governing Board.

- 3. <u>APPROVE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES OF MARCH 31, 2009 –</u>
 The Action Summary Minutes for the meeting of March 31, 2009 were approved as submitted.
- ADOPT ROBERT'S RULES OF ORDER There was a motion made to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for any procedural issues relating to the Special City Selection Committee.

Member Comments:

Northern Region Office (Modesto) - None

Central Region Office (Fresno) – None

Southern Region Office (Bakersfield) - None

Public Comment: None

Motion: Plourde Seconded: Flores

Ayes: Crabbe, Alves, Mateo, Moorhead, VanWinkle, Ovalle, Vierra,

Flores, Wadsworth, Morales, Boyce, Benavides, Darling, Westerland, Ayers, Plasencia, Stockwell, Blayney, Plourde,

Kimball, Carlisle, Gonzalez, Betancourt, Ruiz, Hernandez, Vejvoda,

Gamboa, Scrivner, Vallejo, Nelson

Nays: None

Motion passes unanimously to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for procedural issues relating to the Special City Selection Committee.

- 5. <u>APPOINT CITY REPRESENTATIVES TO THE DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD</u>

 Chairman Vierra stated the recommendations to fill the vacant City seats on the Governing Board reflect the nominees as voted by the cities within each county up for a rotation on the District Governing Board. The recommendations include:
 - 1. Appoint Mr. Randy Miller, City of Taft, as the Small City Representative from Kern County.
 - 2. Appoint Mr. Jesus Gamboa, City of Visalia, as the Large City Representative from Tulare County.
 - 3. Appoint Mr. David G. Ayers, City of Hanford, as the Small City Representative from Kings County.
 - 4. Appoint Ms. Ann Johnston, City of Stockton, as the Large City Representative from San Joaquin County.

Public Comment: The following persons provided testimony on this item:

• Sarah Sharpe, Fresno Metro Ministry

San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES August 31, 2009

Motion: Vejvoda Seconded: Plourde

Ayes: Crabbe, Alves, Mateo, Moorhead, VanWinkle, Ovalle, Vierra,

Flores, Wadsworth, Morales, Boyce, Benavides, Darling, Westerlund, Ayers, Plasencia, Stockwell, Blayney, Plourde,

Kimball, Carlisle, Gonzalez, Betancourt, Ruiz, Hernandez, Vejvoda,

Gamboa, Scrivner, Vallejo, Nelson

Nays: None

Motion passes unanimously to appoint Mr. Randy Miller, City of Taft, as the Small City Representative from Kern County; Mr. Jesus Gamboa, City of Visalia, as the Large City Representative from Tulare County; Mr. David G. Ayers, City of Hanford, as the Small City Representative from Kings County and Ms. Ann Johnston, City of Stockton, as the Large City Representative from San Joaquin County to the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District Governing Board.

- 6. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u> The following persons provided testimony during the Public Comments portion of the meeting:
 - Laura Fultz-Stout, Coalition for Clean Air

8. <u>ADJOURN</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:53 p.m.